RSC CONFERENCE 2020

Securing future power systems with digital cooperation

  • November 24th, 2020, 09:00 to 15:30 CET / 10:00 to 16:30 EET
  • RSC Conference will be available as digital event from the Tallinn Culture Hub
  • 27 professional speakers & experts
Event organisers

ENTSO-E, the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity, represents 42 electricity transmission system operators (TSOs) from 35 countries across Europe. ENTSO-E was registered under European law in 2009 and has been given legal mandates since then. See more about ENTSO-E here:  https://www.entsoe.eu

The Baltic RSC was founded in 2016 as part of the RSC initiative and now provides services for three Baltic States’ TSOs: Elering, AST and Litgrid. Now offering the five main services to the Baltic TSOs, the Baltic RSC is one of the five RSCs in Europe.  See more about Baltic RSC here: https://www.baltic-rsc.eu

co-hostS
About the conference

The fourth RSC Conference takes place on November 24th, hosted this year by the Baltic RSC, in collaboration with ENTSO-E. Each RSC Conference reflects regional specificities. The Baltic RSC will focus its agenda on the digital dimension of the regional coordination. The event will discuss the future of RSCs with an emphasis on the evolution of the regulatory framework and emerging challenges arising from the integration of large-scale renewable energy sources. The role of digitalisation and data availability as a main driver for innovation in the RSC community, as well as service quality improvement, will also be central to the discussion. The RSC Conference 2020 is aimed at increasing transparency and at exchanging with stakeholders from the power sector and beyond.

Ask questions @ www.slido with code #RSC2020

Social media #RSCConference  and #RSC2020


 

CONFERENCE SPEAKERS

Key speakers from EU institutions, industry, markets and civic society will join panels and interactive sessions, enabling the audience to dive more deeply into the work of Regional Security Coordinators now and in the future. More information on these discussions will follow.

Programme

09:00 CET / 10.00 EET

Event opening

09:05 CET / 10:05 EET

Opening speech

  • Future challenges of the power sector – focus on the Baltic region
  • Kadri Simson, European Commissioner of Energy

09:15 CET / 10.15 EET

Welcoming speech

  • TSOs investing in innovative and digital solutions for a secure power system
  • Hervé Laffaye , ENTSO-E President

09:35 CET / 10:35 EET

Keynote speech

  • Leveraging open source to support power system security
  • Lucian Balea, R&D Programme Director and Open Source Manager at RTE & Board Chair of LF Energy

10:00 CET / 11:00 EET

Panel 1- The role of data to support power system security

  • How data can help meet climate goals, whilst keeping the power system secure: examples through the Outage Planning Coordination and Short-Term Adequacy Assessment tools. What data is currently shared and how? Should open data be developed? How do we ensure data quality?
  • Tahir Kapetanovic, Chair of the ENTSO-E System Operations Committee
  • Paddy Hayes, MD ESB Networks, and Co-chair of the Distribution Transmission Cooperation Platform
  • Uwe Zimmermann, Managing Director, TSCNET Services GmbH
  • Georg Rute, Project lead for the Data Bridge Alliance project, Elering

11:00 CET / 12:00 EET

Impact of the pandemic on power systems

  • Rémi Mayet, Acting Head of Energy Security and Safety Unit, European Commission

11:20 CET / 12.20 EET

Break

12:20 -13:15 CET / 13:20 - 14:15 EET

Parallel sessions

  • 1) Data availability to support regional coordination and cooperation
    This session will look at the different IT architectures that are used for TSO regional cooperation (ECCoSP, CGMES 3.0, Estfeed) and also look at the launch of the Outage Planning Coordination and Short-term Adequacy Assessment IT pan-European tools.
  • Moderated by Kaija Valdmaa, Product Manager of Estfeed, Elering
  • Olivier Aine, Standardisation & Interoperability Manager at ENTSO-E
  • Erik Wolfs, Enterprise Architect at Coreso SA
  • Jayaram Anandha, OPC Project Group convener and Service Lead at TSCNET

  • 2) Digital tools, Open source as a tool to advance the IT cooperation between RSCs
    This session will look at what Open Data is currently available and will include a practical exercise on how to use TSO/RSC/ENTSO-E/Markets open data open data from the TSO community and Markets and how to share code.
  • Kristjan Vilgo, Regional coordination specialist, Baltic RSC
  • 3) Challenges faced in the regulatory framework for regional coordination
    This session will look at regulatory aspects of regional coordination for the TSO community, such as the implementation of RSCs and and discussions around newly-introduced tasks and roles.
  • Moderated by Louise Norring, Regional Advisor, ENTSO-E
  • Marco Pasquadibisceglie, Regulatory Authority for Electricity, Gas and Water
  • Thomas Hoelzer, Federal Network Agency
  • Uros GABRIJEL, ACER representative
  • Edward Alexander James-Smith, Energy Attaché at Permanent representation of Denmark to the European Union

13:15 CET / 14.15 EET

Keynotes on RSCs and the European climate ambition

  • How can TSO cooperation support in delivering the European climate goals?
  • Claude Turmes, Minister for Energy of Luxembourg
  • European cooperation & regional coordination to enable the green & digital transition
  • Joachim Vanzetta, Chair of the Board, ENTSO-E
  • Meshed grid/Offshore wind initiative and innovative solutions
  • Taavi Veskimägi, CEO Elering AS

14:20 CET / 15:20 EET

Panel 2 – The role of regional coordination in meshed grid operations

  • How to reach climate goals in an environment in full transformation especially in terms of generation mix (Baltic Offshore Initiative, Power to X); What do TYNDP scenarios tell us about the future; How RSCs can support TSOs in their management of the offshore grid.
  • Jan Hensmans, Belgian North Seas Energy Cooperation Presidency
  • Giles Dickson, CEO, WindEurope
  • Priit Heinla, Offshore Grid Development manager, Elering
  • Jens Møller Birkebæk, Manager, Nordic RSC
  • Moderated by Gerald Kaendler, ENTSO-E System Development Committee Vice Chair; Head of Asset Management at Amprion

15:20 CET / 16:20 EET

Closing words

  • Veiko Aunapuu, Representative of Baltic RSC
  • The RSC Conference organisers reserve the right to change the programme schedule according to circumstances at the time. Any necessary changes will be publicised on the website as soon as they become apparent.
CONFERENCE SPEAKERS

Commissioner of Energy

Hervé Laffaye

ENTSO-E President

R&D Programme Director and Open Source Manager at RTE & Board Chair of LF Energy

 
Panel 1

Chair of the ENTSO-E System Operations Committee

MD ESB Networks, and Co-chair of the Distribution Transmission Cooperation Platform

Managing Director, TSCNET Services GmbH

Head of the Smart Grid Unit and Digital Development Manager, Elering

After BREAK

Acting Head of Energy Security and Safety Unit, European Commission 

Parallel session 1

Product Manager of Estfeed, Elering 

Olivier Aine

Standardisation & Interoperability Manager at ENTSO-E

Enterprise Architect at Coreso SA

Jayaram Anandha

Jayaram Anandha, OPC Project Group convener and Service Lead  at TSCNET

Parallel session 2

Regional coordination specialist, Baltic RSC

Parallel session 3

Regional Advisor at ENTSO-E

Marco Pasquadibisceglie

Regulatory Authority for Electricity, Gas and Water

Thomas Hoelzer

Federal Network Agency

Uros GABRIJEL

ACER representative

Edward Alexander James-Smith

Energy Attaché at Permanent representation of Denmark to the European Union

Keynotes on RSCs

Claude Turmes

Minister for Energy of Luxembourg

Chair of the Board, ENTSO-E Chair of the Board 

CEO Elering AS

PANEL 2

JAN HENSMANS

Belgian North Seas Energy Cooperation Presidency

CEO, WindEurope

Offshore Grid Development Manager, Elering

Manager, Nordic RSC

GERALD KAENDLER

ENTSO-E System Development Committee Vice Chair; Head of Asset Management at Amprion

Closing

Representative of Baltic RSC

CONFERENCE MODERATOR

Moderator

Register now
  • ONLINE Event

RSC Conference will be available as a podcast as well as a live-streamed digital event.

CONTACT:
T: +372 5689 6079
E: info@rsc2020.eu, info@elering.ee

Scroll to Top